Main Menu

Sanjrani, Mandviwala win Senate elections by Defeating Govt Candidates

Sadiq Sanjrani and Saleem Mandviwala were elected as Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Senate on Monday.

In the House of 104, 53 votes were required to win the contest. However, 103 members cast their votes as one of the elected Senator, Ishaq Dar could not take oath due to his stay in London.

The Pakistan People’s Party and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf supported Sanjrani got 57 votes while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Raja Zafar-ul-Haq took 46 votes. No vote was rejected.

Meanwhile Mandviwala, a united opposition candidate, was declared successful for the post of Deputy Chairman Senate by securing 54 out of 98 votes. Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani announced the winner.

PML-N supported candidate Muhammad Usman Khan Kakar secured 44 votes. No vote was rejected.
After the elections all the Senators congratulated the chairman and deputy chairman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *